Tick….Tock….Tick….Tock….

No doubt that through this adoption process we will get accustomed to the melody of seconds/minutes/hours ticking away on the clock.

I am reading a book called “To Small To Ignore” written by Dr. Wess Stafford, President and CEO of Compassion International.  Dr. Stafford grew up in a small village in Africa as a missionary kid…..an amazing life of adventure characterized by love for others.  In his book he tells many stories about his life in Africa but today a quote from his tribe’s chief rang especially true…”The smaller that men can measure the day, the more angry they seem to be”.

Powerful words as I think about how time falling off a clock seems to bring out the worst in us all.  Impatience leading to stress, stress leading to frustration, frustration leading to anger, anger leading to hurtful actions….so on and so on.

Today I tried to ignore the clock.  I tried not to think about the fact that we have two years ahead of us before we welcome our kids from Haiti into our home.  Instead, I tried to sit down with my daughters, enter their world, and enjoy the here and now.

That African tribal chief went on to say….

“Time is like a river.  It flows along like water, from the future to the present and into the past.  But there is a bend in the river.  We know the water is coming, but we can’t see it or know very much about it.  All we know is that it is coming.

The present is now – the days we live today.  This is God’s gift to us.  It is meant to be enjoyed and lived to the fullest.  The present will flow by us, of course, and become the past.  That is the way of a river, and that is the way of time.”

My prayer today is that we don’t simply use the “present as a vantage point to better see around the bend to the future.”

Carpe Diem…or something to that effect.

3 Responses to “Tick….Tock….Tick….Tock….”

  1. this is great man. thanks for the reminder

  2. Crystal Harper Says:

    Wow. Thanks for posting this, Jason. I was in the “rat race” of working at super speed today and had already been impatient, annoyed, and angry at events that “wasted my time” today and were beyond me control. I got chills reading the quotes from the book. Sounds like something I need to be reading… Want to let me borrow it when you are done?

  3. I needed that today!

Leave a Reply

