Inspiration should lead to perspiration….

Who is inspiring you right now?  Please comment….we would love to know.  Here are some people that I have been encouraged, challenged, and inspired by lately:

Martin Luther King

From his speech the night before he was killed

“like anybody, I would like to live a long life, longevity has it’s place.  But, I’m not concerned about that  now.  I just want to do God’s will.”

“so I’m happy tonight. I’m not worried about anything, I’m not fearing any man, mine eyes have see the glory of the coming of the Lord.”

From his “I Have a Dream” speech

“we refuse to believe that the bank of Justice is bankrupt. we refuse to believe that there are insufficient funds in the great vaults of opportunity of this nation. so we’ve come to cash this check, a check that will give us, upon demand, the riches of freedom and the security of justice.”

“and we will not be satisfied until justice rolls down like waters and righteousness like a mighty tree.”

“I have a dream…that my four little children, will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.”

“I have a dream…that one day little black boys and little back girls will be able to join hands with little white boys and little white girls as sisters and brothers.”

Bono (from U2)

From his speech at the NAACP awards

“because where you live should not decided whether you live or whether you die”

“the poor are where God lives.  God is in the slums, in the cardboard boxes where the poor place house…”

“God, my friends, is with the poor and God is with us if we are with them”

“love thy neighbor is not a piece of advice, it is a command.  So that means in the global village we are going to have to start Loving a whole lot more people!”

From his speech at the presidential prayer breakfast

“this is not about Charity…this is about Justice, about Justice and Equality”

“it’s annoying, but justice and equality are mates…justice always wants to hang out with equality, and equality is a real pain”

Sara Groves

From her song “When The Saints”

“Lord it’s all that I can’t carry and cannot leave behind
it all can overwhelm me
but when I think of all who’ve gone before and lived the faithful life
their courage compels me”

“I see the young missionary and the end of the spear
I see his family returning with no trace of fear”

“I see the young girl huddled on the brothel floor
I see the man with a passion come and kicking down the door”

From her song “I Saw What I Saw”, written after her return from Rwanda

“I saw what I saw and I can’t forget it
I heard what I heard and I can’t go back
I know what I know and I can’t deny it”

“Your pain has changed me
Your dream inspires
Your face a memory
Your hope a fire
Your courage asks me what I’m afraid of
Your courage asks me what I’m made of
and what I know of love, and what I know of God”

“we’ve done what we’ve done and we can’t erase it
we are what we are and it’s more than enough
we have what we have but it’s no substitution”

“I say what I say with no hesitation
I have what I have and I’m giving it up
I do what I do with deep conviction”

2 Responses to “Inspiration should lead to perspiration….”

  1. i love love love love that sara groves song!

  2. So fantastic! Thank’s for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

